skip to Main Content
Nominations For The Kathryn Smith Matkov Award

Nominations for the Kathryn Smith Matkov Award

The 2016 Kathryn Smith Matkov Award presented to Elizabeth (Betsy) Clarke, founder and president of the Juvenile Justice Initiative (JJI)

FBA Members:

The FBA Chicago Chapter would like to recognize the recipient of the Kathryn Smith Matkov Award at the chapter holiday party on December 14, 2017. The chapter bestows the award to, usually, an attorney or judge who has demonstrated a commitment to excellence and accuracy in defining, illuminating and informing the public on issues critical to American society, particularly relating to under-represented individuals such as children, the aged and minorities. This award is given in the name of Chicago Past President Kathryn Smith Matkov, who passed away at a young age. The award recognizes her commitment to improving conditions for such individuals.

We need your help to identify nominees. Please send nominations of potential candidates for this award to our chapter at by the close of business Wednesday, November 15. Your nomination should include a one-page description of why you believe that individual qualifies for the award, and should provide contact information for that individual.

Required: one-page description of individual’s qualifications
and the individual’s contact information
Nominations due by close of business Wednesday, November 15, 2017


With gratitude for your assistance,
Kim Soo Nagle and Paul Freehling
Co-Chairs, Chicago Chapter Awards Committee

Back To Top