skip to Main Content
Annual Installation Luncheon

Annual Installation Luncheon

Federal Bar Association Chicago Chapter Board 2013From left:  George Jackson III, Jordan P. Vick, Margaret (“Peggy”) McCormick, Hon. Ruben Castillo, Sheri H. Mecklenburg, Hon. Matthew Kennelly, Mark E. Furlane

The Chicago Chapter of the Federal Bar Association held its Annual Installation Luncheon at the Standard Club on October 15, 2013. Outgoing president George Jackson III welcomed three hundred and twenty people to the luncheon, including thirty six judges. Twenty nine tables were sponsored by Chicago law firms.

Judge Elaine Bucklo administered the oath of office to FBA Board members and officers and introduced incoming president Margaret (“Peggy”) McCormick. The new president provided a glimpse into plans for the coming year in her remarks and spoke about why the Federal Bar Association is such a great organization for attorneys involved in federal practice. Her practice centers on immigration law, a federal practice which touches on many other areas of federal practice, including social security, tax, criminal, employment, international, civil rights, federal litigation and bankruptcy. The FBA has the active involvement of lawyers and judges involved in many relevant areas of law, from the perspective of the government, private bar, and the judiciary. 

The Keynote speaker at the luncheon was the Hon. Ruben Castillo, Chief Judge of the Northern District of Illinois. Judge Castillo addressed the impact of the March 2013 automatic sequestration as well as the implications of the government shutdown, in its 15th day on the day of the luncheon, on the federal courts. 

Related posts:

Chief Judge Castillo’s comments from Installation Luncheon

President Peggy McCormick featured in Chicago Daily Law Bulletin 

Oath of office to Chicago Federal Bar Association Board MembersFrom left:  Jordan P. Vick, Sheri H. Mecklenburg, Hon. Matthew Kennelly, Hon. Elaine Bucklo, George Jackson III, Margaret (“Peggy”) McCormick, Hon. Ruben Castillo, Mark E. Furlane

Back To Top